Curation Apps and Sites: My Favourite New Discoveries

screen-shot-2016-10-02-at-6-45-00-am          screen-shot-2016-09-12-at-4-36-57-pm

TWITTER

I have already shared my excitement of Twitter in this post, but I cannot say enough about this newfound app. The meme above sums up my passion for Twitter!

screen-shot-2016-09-12-at-4-37-27-pm

iBooks AUTHOR

After watching many Lynda.com tutorials and many more hours of trial and error, I am growing to love iBooks Author. I am still in the infancy of my knowledge and digital dexterity with this app, but the results are beautiful nevertheless. I like the way the document flows and the interactivity to which it lends itself. It is growing to be a favourite curation publishing tool of mine.

screen-shot-2016-09-12-at-4-38-05-pm

PINTEREST

While researching a recent assignment, I was alerted to the fact of how often interesting images and articles that I was looking for appeared as ‘pinned’ on Pinterest. The design element (the creation and pinning onto boards) piques my drive to have everything organized and filed (i.e. curated!).

screen-shot-2016-09-12-at-4-38-22-pm

SHUTTERFLY

I have used Shutterfly in a recent assignment as a site for uploading and sharing images. I like the customization features of the app; adding messages, events, and notifications to the site I created was easy and seamless.

screen-shot-2016-09-12-at-4-37-49-pm

Slideshare.net

Exploration of this site is the next item on my To Do list. It is starting to dawn on me that the reason we have been directed to use Web 2.0 apps is because WordPress has limited media storage; extra storage must be purchased via an upgraded version. (AHA!) I am looking to use this tool to share my curated images and information.

Leave a Reply

